of Accident Victims below and Telemarketing
||Colorado Doctors of Chiropractic require CERTIFICATION by the Colorado Board of Chiropractic Examiners to perform acupunture.
DOWNLOAD THE FORM HERE:
RULE 17 Acupuncture
A. All chiropractors who choose to practice acupuncture as an adjunct
to their regular practice of chiropractic and who do not already hold a
valid current acupuncture license issued by the Director of the
Colorado Division of Registrations, must be certified by the Board.
Applications for certification in acupuncture shall be made in a manner
approved by the Board. Certification in acupuncture by the State Board
of Chiropractic Examiners may be obtained by complying with the
1. Completing a minimum of a combined total of 100 hours of theoretical
study and supervised clinical instruction obtained from a school of
chiropractic approved by the Council on Chiropractic Education or the
equivalent hours of study and clinical supervision obtained from an
2. Passing a nationally recognized acupuncture examination.
B. The use of needle auriculotherapy or needle meridian therapy is
exclusively limited to those licensees certified in acupuncture.
responsibility to make sure your address of
record is correct with the Board of Examiners. CHANGE YOUR address or name on-line at https://www.doradls.state.co.us/
||VIEW a summary of ALL ADVERTISING regulations by clicking here.
may NOT advertise free or discounted x-rays. Other services may be
free, or at a discount provided that:
The offer clearly delineates which services are actually free and for
services the patient will be charged;
All discounts and giveaways must be made available to patients
of insurance status;
Before services are delivered, the patient must sign and be given a
of a form showing which services are provided at no charge, and which
will require a fee.
of Chiropractic Examiners
||NEW Program Director (7-09)
Brian W. Pritchard
NEW STAFF CONTACT
1560 Broadway, Suite 1350
Denver, CO 80202
MAIN (303) 894-7800
(303) 894-7764 - Fax
Scope of practice info
the Board's web site
link to practice act
examinations, consumer compaints, disciplinary action, rules and
HERE to Review a summary of training including XRAY TRAINING that is
reguired for unlicensed personnel in a Colorado DCs office.
hours are counted from NOVEMBER 1 through OCTOBER 31 each year.
law requires a minimum of 15 CE hours per year. Health Care Provider
Level CPR Training is required and you must maintain a valid CPR card
at all times. In addiion, at least four hours of
documentation/recordkeeping is required every two years. You must
of the dates and hours attended, a synopsis of the course and the
of the instructor in your files. Seminars sponsored by the CCA will
include all required documentation. In addition, the CCA maintains
of all CE hours for the most recent five years accumulated by
of CCA Seminars and Conventions. The Board may require
representative (with proper release) must pay a reasonable cost to
copies of his/her patient records, not to exceed $14.00 for the first
fewer pages, 50¢ per page for pages 11-40, and 33 per page for
page. Actual postage or shipping costs
may also be charged. (from 6 C.R.R.
1011-1, Chapter 2, Part 22.214.171.124.)
|DOCUMENTATION AND RECORDKEEPING
|DCs in Colorado must complete at least 4 hours of documentation during each two-year license renewal perion.
Review documentation and recordkeeping guidelines:
giving, or receiving remuneration for the referral of patients is
by the practice act. You may give an "incidental" gift to a patient in
appreciation for a patient referral.
Owens vetoed a 2001 bill allowing doctors of chiropractic to sign
parking stickers. Curently, DCs CANNOT legally sign for
exemptions for medical reasons can only be signed by an MD or DO
to Rule 6CCR-1009-2 of the Colorado Department of Health. Exemptions
be granted for "personal beliefs" as well. These do not require the
of a health care provider.
|LICENSING INFORMATION FOR COLORADO DCs
of 4-1-09, Massage
are NOW required to be registered/licensed in the state of
Colorado. Visit http://www.dora.state.co.us/massage-therapists/licensure.htm
for more information.
It is your duty to know
the Practice Act under which you are licensed. You
need to know about discipline of
chiropractors, use of your title,
how to form a professional corporation, safety training for unlicensed
technicians, insurance fraud, and much more.
Visit the Colorado
State Board of Chiropractic Examiners web site for a copy of the
practice act, rules, regulations, and board policies.
|Physicals (Sports PPE)
|See Sports Physicals
of Chiropractic Examiners verifies that Colorado
doctors of chiropractic may perform physical therapy and advertise that
provide physical therapy. HOWEVER, Colorado doctors of
chiropractic may not claim to be physical therapists.
law requires that licensed health care professionals must release
of patient records (including x-rays) upon written authorization or
dated and signed by the patient, with reasonable notice and with
of reasonable costs for the copies. You may NOT withhold copies because
the patient has an outstanding balance.
records must be retained for a minimum of SEVEN YEARS after the last
of treatment or examination, or at least two years after the patient
the age of eighteen, which ever occurs later. (See
Rule 22 Colorado Chiropractic Practice Act)
of Accident Victims
is the position of the Colorado Chiropractic Association that the
of purchasing accident reports for the purpose of patient solicitation
is unprofessional. (Also see CCA's position on Telemarketing).
While not widespread in the chiropractic profession, it is very visible
and is an unwarranted invasion of privacy. The Colorado Chiropractic
stands opposed to any such activity conducted by any professional
or corporation. (adopted November 1992) REMEMBER that is it ILLEGAL in
Colorado to contact any accident victim less than 30 days prior to the
date of the accident. (CRS
Physicals (Pre Participation Exams- PPE)
Colorado High School Athletic Association changed their bylaws
with the 2000-01 school year to allow DCs to perform school athletic
the DC has been certified to perform physicals. Check
for available classes.
Colorado Chiropractic Association expressly condemns the use of
or "ambulance chasing" for the purposes of patient solicitation.
CCA Ethics Policy.
advertising, including business cards and signage must clearly identify
you as a doctor of chiropractic such as one of the following ways: John
Smith, DC OR Dr. Betty Smith, Chiropractor
of the word "physician" or modifiers such as "orthopedist" or
may only be used in the context of an advanced educational
such as CCSP, DABCO, or DABCN.